Inferiority Complex (hack library school)

I’m finally getting to my emails and blogs after a few weeks away, so I’m quite late on picking this up, but I just read a blog post over at Hack Library School about the “inferiority complex.” It can be a good reminder to back off from the dread of job-finding as our minds drift to the future during a long winter break rather than on the immediate stress of classes. One of the commenters, Nora, made a particularly good point: our inferiority complex is probably extremely heightened due the job market. What would we be like if it was 2004 and the world was ever-growing? It’s not that the work is terribly difficult, it’s that getting the work can be terribly difficult. And loans are scary.

I have pretty much (75%?) decided to not re-work the paper I wrote for my archives class on graves in Srebrenica for publication submission to a student journal, due this January 15th. If it was in February or March, maybe, but there are still many things I want to research and weave into my paper. There aren’t many days left until January 15th. If I love this topic, and I want to do right by it, I think I just need to spend more time on it. Part of getting away from an inferiority complex is getting away from the idea of the race — that I have to do it NOW, or FIRST. Everyone is on different timelines (as Facebook will show us soon).

Take your time. Take your tea, and your vacation, and it will all work out.

One thought on “Inferiority Complex (hack library school)

  1. “It’s not that the work is terribly difficult, it’s that getting the work can be terribly difficult. And loans are scary.”

    oh so true! everything feels more daunting and difficult when you don’t have a lot of confidence in your future.

    but you’ll be absolutely fine. you’ve got the right attitude. :)

Leave a Reply

